PDA

View Full Version : Anybody tried this?

jackmormon
04-16-2011, 07:13 PM
I'm considering all of the emergency power sources, and while all are nice, they all have pitfalls. Solar only works when the sun shines, wind when the wind blows, generators as long as you have gas. The only fuel I can think of that comes in great abundance during emergency times is wood. Being a hobby machinist, I got thinking I should build a piston-steam engine powered generator fueled by nothing other than the campfire. I'm not talking about megawatts of power, just enough to power a few lights, radios, etc.

DMGNUT
04-17-2011, 01:45 PM
I can't remember where I saw this (maybe somewhere on this site...), it was link someone provided, but I saw a video clip of a guy who had built a steam powered pickup truck. The whole contraption was in the back of the truck, all the power came from burning wood.
I like your idea, especially for remote locations.
If things go bad, you may not want to be stoking up a fire in the middle of town.

kts532
04-17-2011, 02:22 PM
It will work if you charge 12 volt and use an inverter. You can build a big wood generator to charge 120 volt. I think you would be better off with a gas generator if you want alot of power. I know that you said that you wanted a small amount of power, so go for it and build one you will never regret it if the power goes out.

mgriffith
04-17-2011, 05:06 PM
Do some research on Stirling engines. There have been some large ones made that can turn a generator. A lot less work, and much less danger, than live steam.

Mark

Toni
04-18-2011, 01:27 PM
Well, you could always try bicycle powered. You'd be in great shape. :d0 (30):

Ligure
04-18-2011, 04:10 PM
You could also try a thermocouple to generate electricity from a campfire or a stove. This site sells them:
http://www.tegpower.com/products.html

Ligure

jackmormon
04-18-2011, 08:34 PM