PDA

View Full Version : Solar Charger - need advice

Earthling
11-25-2012, 08:04 PM
I have read several times in Hurricane Sandy experiences a comment on how important it was to have a solar charger for cell phones, laptops, and batteries. I have no experience with this. What do you all recommend? Thanks for your help!!

Noahs ARK
11-25-2012, 09:33 PM
We just bought an Opteka BP-SC4000 solar cell phone charger from Amazon. Need to play with it when it gets here.

My battery charger works ok, but I wasn't too impressed so I bought a bunch of 10+ year batteries.

mgriffith
11-26-2012, 07:17 AM
There are so many solar chargers out there, it is difficult to recommend any one. I have several 15 watt solar panels for emergency use and built a small platform to hold them and allow me to move them around. Five or six of these 15 watts panels will give you 5-6 amps of 12v power in strong sunlight, enough to charge a good size deep cycle battery or car battery in one day. There are lots of these available on eBay. The 15 watt panels are going for about $75 now, and the more power per panel, the more they cost, but it is generally cheaper to buy the larger wattage panels like 100 or 150 watts, than several of the smaller ones if you can afford $400 or more at one time.

For small battery charging, I picked up a couple of these from eBay. They work, nothing fancy. Charge time depends upon the sun strength, etc, but for $10 each, it's not too much to dish out. There are more expensive ones available if you think these are too cheap. :001_tongue:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Solar-Battery-Charger-for-4-pc-AA-AAA-Green-Power-J15-/310434386803?pt=Battery_Chargers&hash=item484754d373

One thing though, of course solar chargers rely upon the Sun, so if it is cloudy or at night, you are out of luck. This is a neat alternative:

http://biolitestove.com/