PDA

View Full Version : Natural cold/flu remedies

prairiemom
01-07-2013, 12:23 PM
I just posted a compilation of natural remedies for cold and flu. Not at all comprehensive, but a good enough start. Any other suggestions?
http://www.providenthomecompanion.com/stay-healthy/

LEVE
01-07-2013, 12:27 PM
ny other suggestions?Yes... with any remedy, in about 7 days you'll start to feel better if it's a cold.

JayE
01-07-2013, 01:38 PM
It has been many years since I have had a cold, or any kind of sickness. I think I had the flu maybe once in my life, and that might have been about 10 years ago. But, there is something that I have been doing for the past several years that I am convinced makes a difference. I used to get colds once in a while before that, but now I never get them at all. Every morning I take two cayenne capsules and one garlic pill with a little bit of juice.

prairiemom
01-07-2013, 01:56 PM
Yes... with any remedy, in about 7 days you'll start to feel better if it's a cold.

:l0 (48):

Unless, like me, you have a history of asthma and bronchitis and every cold leads to a secondary infection.

Rand
01-07-2013, 03:23 PM
This is a nice post Prairemom. I agree with you.
Can I add some clarification on Echinacea? I have used it for 25 years professionally. It will do what it will do and works very well when used right. I have found it is very limited in prevention. If taken for a long period of time it will wear down the body. Use it with an active infection, meaning the mucus is colored yellow or green. It works well then but especially for bacterial infection. Then it works best if combined with Vit. A, Golden Seal and a little Ginger to warm the stomach so it doesn't bother the stomach.
Sleep is the best preventer of seasonal bugs. Staying emotionally healthy is vital. Vitamin D3 is next. Diet is helpful.