PDA

View Full Version : 2010 garden

signseeker
02-18-2010, 11:43 AM
Well, all my seeds have arrived in the mail and today I took the saved seeds from last year out of the old fridge and I'm going to do a complete inventory and decide what to plant this year.

We are going to try to double the size of the garden... we'll be taking out lawn for that. That's probably going to be a bit of work...

I think I'll start my seeds for tomatoes and peppers around St. Patrick's Day.

So what are your plans, everyone? :001_302:

P.S. I'm also going to keep all my saved seeds in one box in the fridge in case I want to grab it fast. For some reason.

hiccups
02-18-2010, 12:02 PM
I am still deciding what to plant. Gonna buy my seeds from Walmart again probably.

Part of our garden is going to be devoted to what my Activity Day girls want to plant. They are going to help with planting and weeding and all. One thing they really want to plant is strawberries. I've never done those before. Anyone have tips on them?

ZDMZ
02-18-2010, 12:02 PM
I am going to try square foot gardening. I have tried a couple of gardens here and have not had much success. If I can get anything to grow I will be happy.
No plans on what to grow yet.

Julie
02-18-2010, 01:55 PM
I have doubled the size of my garden this year too. I have a side of my house that I have tilled up and I have added one more growing area to my grow box garden.
With Mittleider mineral mix, you can grow anything.
I have got strawberries ordered and I am trying potatoes, watermelon, and melon for the first time. This is an experimental year for me and I am trying to keep accurate records on the outcome with my gardening journal. I am waiting for my tomatoes and peppers to come up in my little greenhouse.

signseeker
02-18-2010, 03:11 PM