Maintaining an Organized Garden
By Tamara Galbraith
January 3, 2011

Perhaps Travis Bickle, the protagonist of Martin Scorsese’s classic movie “Taxi Driver,” said it best: “One of these days, I’m gonna get organiz-ized.” Travis wasn’t a gardener, as far as we know. But resolving to become more efficient and organized is always a good idea.

Gardening picture

So what exactly are we talking about? Well, depending on your level of involvement in gardening, this could include a lot of different elements. How many times have you meant to start spinach seeds, but then realized the window for planting spinach in your area had already closed? How often have you looked at a plant in your garden with no idea of where you bought it or how long you'd had it?

Now, some of you with better memories and/or organizational skills are probably chuckling right now. The rest of us...well, we need a little help. I've been indulging in serious gardening for the past ten years and have yet to really get "organiz-ized."

So let's look at a list of gardening tasks and topics we may want to tackle:

Seed cataloguing - What seeds do you own? How old are they? What company are they from? How well have they performed in the past when grown?
Seed starting schedule - What seeds should you start, when?
Plant inventory - What plants have you bought and from whom? Where and when were they planted in your yard? How did they do?
Gardening chores - What calendar-based chores need to be performed each month (lawn fertilization, tree trimming, etc.)?

Only four bullet points...doesn't seem quite so bad, right? Just thinking about things in "pockets" of information seems to make more sense and brings order to the chaos.

Now, how do we really go about organizing all of this?

There are many different tools meant for organizing information, of course. Choose whichever one you feel most comfortable with.