M E R I D I A N M A G A Z I N E
Time to Prepare for Planting
By Lucas Proctor

Introductory Column

I am a bona fide plant nerd. I love plants. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Horticulture and will spend any free time reading reference books about plants and their wonders. I like to diagnose people's plant problems.

Plants are also important teachers, because they give us so much opportunity to learn about our Heavenly Father and His plan for us. In a 1976 conference address about family preparedness President Spencer W. Kimball stated:

We encourage you to grow all the food that you feasibly can on your own property. Berry bushes, grapevines, fruit trees-plant them if your climate is right for their growth. Grow vegetables and eat them from your own yard.

Even those residing in apartments or condominiums can generally grow a little food in pots and planters. Study the best methods of providing your own foods. Make your garden as neat and attractive as well as productive. If there are children in your home, involve them in the process with assigned responsibilities.

Part of my focus for this column will be to help facilitate this request by a modern-day prophet. His request was fourfold:

First, we were asked to study the best methods of providing our own foods. In this column I will list online resources and great books to read.

Second, he encouraged us to grow all the food we can on our own property. Many people live in apartments or townhomes where ground to grow plants is nonexistent and we will address that.

Third, he asked us to make our gardens neat and attractive. In Europe, they don't have yards; they have gardens. I think that here, in America , that change in words has not only degraded the meaning, but also the art of gardening. I will try to help you change your paradigms about yards and gardens to help you see that in many cases they can be one in the same and beautiful too.