PDA

View Full Version : question about powdered whole eggs

libertygranny
03-01-2011, 08:24 PM
I bought some powdered whole eggs about 3 years ago from an online bulk food website. The eggs came in a plastic bag w/no oxy pack in it, I put the eggs into a glass storage jar, where they have sat since. I did use them a couple of times about 2.5 yrs ago, but they kind of got pushed to the back of the cupboard and forgotten.

My question is, should I toss them or would they still be good to use? I would not be able to tell by smell if they have gone bad or not, because well, they smell like hard boiled eggs.

Noahs ARK
03-02-2011, 02:05 PM
Can you try them in a cake mix or something like that?

I doubt it would make you sick, but I'm no expert on dried eggs.

phylm
03-02-2011, 09:30 PM
Doubt is there's anything wrong with them. As Noah says, I'd try them in cake or muffins and see how they taste. Should be fine.

Earthling
03-02-2011, 11:20 PM
I have a very good food storage book that has you use powdered eggs in lots of recipes - on a normal basis. I haven't tried the recipes out as I hate to open powdered eggs as they are sealed for long term storage.

I Can't Believe It is Food Storage - by Godfrey

I found my copy at Costco a few years ago but it is also at Deseret Book and on Amazon for $11.45. It is a pretty good book.

http://www.amazon.com/Cant-Believe-Its-Food-Storage/dp/1935217178/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1299129581&sr=1-2

hiccups
03-03-2011, 01:19 AM
Just a head's up since we're talkin powdered eggs here. Emergency Essentials has them on sale for $14 a #10 can if you buy 12 or more at a time. Plus that quantity qualifies you for free shipping (and you can add whatever else you want to the order and it all ships free.) I'm loving the group buy section at EE.

libertygranny
03-03-2011, 10:28 AM