PDA

View Full Version : Pulled up Sharply by the Soaring Price of Food

mirkwood
10-02-2008, 12:15 AM
http://meridianmagazine.com/emergency/081001food.html

Pulled up Sharply by the Soaring Price of Food
By Carolyn Nicolaysen

With an avalanche of economic news this week, you may be wondering what to do next. I am not an economic expert but there are a few facts I do know, and they underscore the fact that food stored yesterday is worth more today. That's right Wall Street, ?food? is one of the most impressive investments in my portfolio. While we may have to eat our economic losses, at least those with food storage can enjoy a meal of their food storage profits ? profits that are so far tax free, as well.

The consumer price index for food increased 0.7 percent in August and is now 7.5 percent above last August.
Beef prices surged 2.4% in August and 7% for the year.
Pork prices jumped 1.2% in August and 3.4% for the year
Poultry prices increased 0.9% in August and are up 4.2% from a year ago.
Egg prices dropped 4.1% in August and 6.9% for the year.
Dairy prices were up 0.4% in August and 6.4% for the year.
Milk prices dropped 1.4% but are still up 2.2% for the year.
Cheese prices were up 1.4% and 12.6% for the year.
Apple prices are up this year 18.9%, banana prices up 22.3%, and citrus fruit up 6.0%.
Fresh vegetable prices are up 14.2%, lettuce up 9.7%, tomato up 16.0%, potatoes up 29.4%, and other fresh vegetable prices up 9.2% for the year.
Cereals and bakery product prices are up 11.7% for the year.
Sugar and sweets prices were up 0.4 percent in August and 5.4% for the year.
Noncarbonated juices and drink prices were up 0.4% in August and 3.8% for the year.
It's not your imagination, grocery prices are up, up, up. Experts expect this trend to continue for at least the next five years.